Cattāri Ariyasaccāni (Four Noble Truths)

Four Noble Truths (Cattāri Ariyasaccāni ): 

Astasahasrika Prajnaparamita Dharmacakra Discourse
  1. Dukkhaṃ Ariyasaccaṃ (The Noble Truth of Suffering),  
  2. Dukkhasamudayo Ariyasaccaṃ (The Noble Truth of the Cause of Suffering),  
  3. Dukkhanirodho Ariyasaccaṃ (The Noble Truth of the ending of Suffering),  
  4. Dukkhanirodhagāminīpaṭipadā Ariyasaccaṃ (The Noble Truth of the ending of Suffering by following the Noble Eightfold Path). 
The Four Noble Truths refer to and express the basic orientation of Buddhism[1] in a short expression:[2][note 1] we crave and cling to impermanent states and things,[3] which are dukkha,[4] "incapable of satisfying"[web 1] and painful.[web 1][3][5][6][7][web 2] This craving keeps us caught in samsara,[note 2] the endless cycle of repeated rebirth and dying again, and the dukkha that comes with it.[note 3] There is, however, a way to end this cycle,[8][note 4] namely by attaining nirvana, cessation of craving, whereafter rebirth and associated dukkha will no longer arise again.[note 5][9] This can be accomplished by following the eightfold path,[note 1] restraining oneself, cultivating discipline, and practicing mindfulness and meditation.[10][11]